My Favorites

My Favorites: For Life with a Toddler and a 6 Week Old

The last 6 weeks for gone by entirely too fast. This time 6 weeks ago my love and I were sitting in a triage room, and I was having contractions every 15 mins. I was admitted and the rest is history. It is a birth story that I look forward to retelling every September 4. Life with a newborn and a toddler has been a whole new adventure. And though there have been some really tough days, everything is momentary, and new joys always rise with the sun.

This is a post that I wish I had written when Grayson was 6 weeks old. It would have made my baby prep days a little easier. However, I didn’t and the sieve that is my brain no longer holds the details of my favorite items from his first 6 weeks. Those few things that made the days run a little more smoothly. So, in an effort to learn from the past here I am documenting my favorites from the last 6 weeks.

  • This pink maternity dress from Target:

Merona® Maternity Kimono Maxi Dress - Assorted Colors

I bought this dress at the beginning of my second trimester to wear to a baby shower and a bridal shower. It has quickly become one of my favorite items in my closet. I was able to wear it my entire pregnancy and I packed it in my hospital bag to wear after I gave birth. The deep V of the top required that I wear it with something underneath to fit my more conservative style. However, this feature also made the dress perfect for nursing in. It is the dress that I am wearing in the picture below, and in all of the family pictures that I have posted from that session. I plan to get another one, I am just trying to decided which color.

The Robbins, Summer 2013
The Robbins, Summer 2013
  • This nursing tank from Target:

Gilligan & O'Malley® Women's Hands-Free Nursing Cami - Assorted Colors

This was actually a gift from a friend. These tanks were on sale at our local Target. She bought two and feel in love with them. Our daughters were born 2 days apart, and when she realized that she was never going to use the white one she passed it along to me. She was right , and I am now in love with this tank also. It is lose enough to disguise the post-baby belly. It is quite long for a tank top which makes it a flattering length on my 5 foot 8-9 inch body. And the way the bra section works makes it very easy to use, and quite modest.

  • Lanolin:

Lansinoh® HPA® Lanolin

Of all the products I have forgotten about with my first pregnancy, this isn’t one of them. It is forever burned into my mind as a lifesaver.   What I remember is that after the first few times using it I vowed to pack it in my hospital bag if I was ever blessed enough to have another baby. Well, I made good on the promise. This was one of the first things I bought for my bag this pregnancy, and I started using it with my first feeding. It helps tremendously with the pain that comes with those first few weeks of nursing. I didn’t even come close to using the whole tube so it will be put safely away for the next baby.

  • My Nursing/Diaper Caddy:

Nursing Caddy

It didn’t take me long to realize that I needed something to corral all my little necessities within arms reach. I found this one at Target for $10 and it works great. It is large enough to hold lots of diapers and has the pockets are a nice size for items like baby leggings, paci’s, saline drops, and such. I actually decided that I liked this one so much that I bought a second one to keep in the back of my car.

Car Diaper Caddy

I keep this one fully stocked with diapers for both kids, wipes, disposable changing pads, plastic bags, and the changing pad that come with the caddy. I have found that for us it is easiest to change both kids in the back of the truck, so a changing station on the go is really nice. I wanted to provide a link, just in case you were interested, but I wasn’t able to find this one on line. Sorry.

  • My “Diaper Bag”:

Diaper Bag 2

This time around I decided to forgo the typical diaper bag. I had one with Grayson, but I found that I just overstuffed it with too much stuff. I decided to take a much for streamlined approach this go-around, and I have been really happy with that decision. I found this bag at Charming Charlie about a month before I gave birth and it has worked great! Plus, carting around a pretty purse instead of a diaper bag just plain makes me feel cuter. And feeling cute is really nice when you are completely sleep deprived. This is a really big bag and it has plenty of space for all the must-haves for both kids. I am working on a separate post about how I organized my diaper bag supplies. It took me a little while to develop my system, but I really love it and can’t wait to share!

Diaper Bag 1

Here is a better look. Again, I wanted to give you a link, but at this point Charming Charlie doesn’t have a website that can be used to shop. So, giving you two pictures is the best I can do right now.

  • These Swaddle Blankets by Aden and Anais from Target:

aden + anais for Target Jillaroo Swaddle Wraps 4pk

I read about these blankets everyone while I was pregnant. It seemed like every pregnant blogger that I found had them on their must-have list. If you order them off of Amazon they are available in a lot more colors and patterns. However, I pick this package up while I was at Target one day. And have pretty much been in love ever since. They are super soft and light weight, which has been great for my hot-natured baby born during a Florida summer.

  • Boz and SuperBook Videos:

BOZ Family

Boz is basically the Christian version of Barney. Actually, it is made by one of the Barney creators. We borrowed one from church to see what Grayson thought and he loved it. So, this was on repeat a lot during those first weeks when all I was spending my days nursing and trying to rest up for the sleepless nights. We rotated between Boz and SuperBook.

SuperBook has been a favorite in our house for a while and we have been given quite a few of these awesome videos. So, we enjoyed our fair share of these lately also.

  • This dinner recipe:

The link should take you to the original recipe. I found it on Pinterest a while back and have made it a couple of times. It is ridiculously easy and so tasty. It has been my go-to choice on the evenings when the baby is especially clingy and I am just not able to put a lot of effort into a meal. Since realizing what a lifesaver this meal can be I try to keep frozen chicken, frozen green beans, and a few potatoes on hand at all times just in case.

And last but certainly not least:

  • Phillipians 4:13:

13 I have strength for all things in Christ Who empowers me [I am ready for anything and equal to anything through Him Who [a]infuses inner strength into me; I am [b]self-sufficient in Christ’s sufficiency].

Spending all day, everyday caring for two young children is full of joys and countless wonderful moments. But, it is also really tough. The Holy Spirit has brought this promise to mind so many days when I have come to the end of myself. It has been truly miraculous to feel the peace and strengthen coming back into me when I have prayed this verse over a hard moment.

Anyway, those are have been my favorites items over the past 6 weeks. I would love to know what items you would recommend for the first 6 weeks home with a new baby. Please just a leave a comment or send me an email. I always think it is interesting to hear and learn from other mommas!

6 thoughts on “My Favorites: For Life with a Toddler and a 6 Week Old

  1. I’m taking notes of all your favorites as I might need them in a few months! I especially love the dress! Yay for feeling and looking cute during and post-pregnancy.

    (We’re big Boz fans around here too, if Grayson ever wants to watch with Ephrem!)

    1. Thanks Carla! If it helps, I just heard from my cousin who has children at similar ages and she said she has at least half of the items on this list :). And we would love to get together! Cabin fever definitely starts to settle in around the middle of the week.

Please leave a reply

